Honors vs. Regular level

Home Forums Modeling: General Honors vs. Regular level

This topic contains 8 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Kenneth Peagler 7 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Kayla

I have been modeling for a few years now and I was wondering what other modelers do with the following: When setting up curriculum and classroom environment, what differences do you typically make between the honors and regular level physics classes (or science in general).

John Thacker
    Participant

Kayla -
    I’m interested in this topic too.
    Since I will be modeling physics for the 1st time this year (at a new school) – I’m pretty much planning to treat the two levels the same except require more depth in the worksheets and probably tests. This isn’t ideal but everyone tells me the first year of modeling is tough so, I want to be realistic. I have been told that on-level students need a lot more structure provided (for example, even providing a 1/2 sheet (landscape) with basics [like a blank data table] to be taped into their Learning Log.) Do you do this level of support?
    John
    PS. Maybe we should take this to the listserv?

Dean Meggison
    Participant

Kayla and John,

Back when I was actively teaching in high school, I struggled with theis issue.
    Since both groups were (theoretically) taking their first Physics classes, I tried to treat both groups the same at the start of the year…speeding up the content flow for the Honors group as they were ready. I held the honors discussions, white board sessions and lab books to a higher standard.

I ran into a lot of pushback from the honors kids with regard to presenting and defending their white boards because they were terrified to make a public mistake… even after establishing a safe environment where ” what happens in class stays in class”.